Th Chirality Medal

Chirality Medal

The Chirality Medal was instituted by the Societa Chimica Italiana in 1991 to honor internationally recognized scientists who have made a distinguished contribution to all aspects of chirality. It is awarded each year by a Chirality Medal Honor Committee comprising the Chirality International Committee members and the most recent recipients of the medal. Four of the successive Chirality Medal winners have been awarded the Nobel Prize in Chemistry.
For the details of Chirality Medal, please visit here.

Winner of the 2017 Chirality Medal


Professor Takuzo Aida, the University of Tokyo, receives the 2017 Chirality Medal and presents the Award Lecture at Chirality 2017.


Takuzo Aida, Professor at the University of Tokyo, Japan was awarded the 2017 Chirality Medal for his outstanding achievements in chirality related to supramolecular chemistry. In particular, he succeeded in developing the first examples of (1) chirality-memory molecules, where saddle-shaped porphyrins with a dynamic chiral geometry memorize the absolute structures of chiral carboxylic acids even after such chiral guests are replaced with achiral carboxylic acids, (2) homochiral supramolecular polymerization, which allows separation of the enantiomers of a constituent monomer by the molecular weights of the corresponding homochiral supramolecular polymers, (3) enantioselective chain-growth supramolecular living polymerization, (4) helical supramolecular nanotubes, which are formed by the helical assembly of amphiphilic hexabenzocoronenes, and (5) redox-responsive dynamic helices of polymeric ortho-phenylenes, whose dynamic nature is controlled by redox chemistry.
Furthermore, he designed (6) molecular tweezers and related molecular machines with tetrasubstituted chiral ferrocenes. These seminal achievements that surely open up the new possibility of chiral chemistry were initiated by his old work in collaboration with Prof. Yoshio Okamoto on the development of chiral porphyrins without asymmetric carbon centers in the year 1988.

With this award, Takuzo Aida joins 26 other distinguished scientists who have received the prize since its institution in 1991 by the Societa Chimica Italiana. He will receive the 2017 Chirality Medal and will present the Award Lecture at "Chirality 2017," the 29th International Symposium on Chirality (ISCD-29), on July 9, 2017 in Tokyo, Japan.

Past Chirality Medal Award Recipients

The Chirality Medal has been awarded to the following scientists.

  • 1991 E. Gil-Av (Israel) and J. Jacques (France)
  • 1992 V. Prelog (Switzerland)
  • 1993 K. Mislow (USA)
  • 1994 W. Pirkle (USA)
  • 1995 K. Nakanishi (USA)
  • 1996 E. L. Eliel (USA)
  • 1997 R. Noyori (Japan)
  • 1998 H. Kagan (France)
  • 1999 V. Davankov (Russia)
  • 2000 K. B. Sharpless (USA)
  • 2001 Y. Okamoto (Japan)
  • 2002 D. Seebach (Switzerland)
  • 2003 D. W. Armstrong (USA)
  • 2004 V. Schurig (Germany)
  • 2005 K. Soai (Japan)
  • 2006 M. Lahav (Israel)
  • 2007 N. Berova (USA)
  • 2008 W. Lindner (Austria)
  • 2009 B. L. Feringa (The Netherlands)
  • 2010 K. Mori (Japan)
  • 2011 L. Barron (UK)
  • 2012 E. Jacobsen (USA)
  • 2013 E. Yashima (Japan)
  • 2014 M. T. Reetz (Germany)
  • 2015 C. Welch (USA)
  • 2016 A. Pfaltz (Switzerland)